Olivetti Lettera 22 and Nickel Brook Cafe Del Bastardo

I finally get around to dusting off the blog, and with it a very noteworthy typewriter and a somewhat dusty bottle of beer!

Olivetti Lettera 22 Typewriter

It’s been awhile, I know. While I’ve been less active on the computer, I’ve still been finding, fixing and using typewriters, and I have a number of works-in-progress yet to be completed, so there is more to come. Since I haven’t been posting regularly, I figure my first post of this year better be a good one – and I think most would agree, this one is.

The Lettera 22 typewriter from Olivetti is pretty famous, and it is a pretty desirable ultra-portable. I mean, it is in the collection of the Museum of Modern Art! It certainly isn’t rare, much like the Hermes ultra-portables, you can find these around if you look, but they are often a little pricey, even for a machine that isn’t in great shape. This example came from an estate sale, and I am glad to have had the opportunity to try one out.

I thought my 22 was from 1950, based on what I found in the Typewriter Database, and even MoMA lists the machine as being introduced in 1950. However, Robert Messenger’s article on the history of the Lettera 22 on the Oz Typewriters blog points out that there are some issues in dating these machines.

Okay, I think I was kidding about the electric blue paint, so purists, please don’t panic!

It’s been awhile since I wrote that typecast, and I’ve spent some more time with this typewriter – and while I still think it’s a very decent little typer, I don’t believe it will be staying in my collection. It has some still competition when facing my Hermes Rocket, my Smith Corona Skyriter and even a bare-bones, but very snappy, Silver Seiko machine. I am sure there are Olivetti enthusiasts that will appreciate this more than myself. Still, I am very happy to have had the chance to spend some quality time with it, and it has made me very curious to try its younger, bigger brother, the Lettera 32!

Nickel Brook’s Cafe Del Bastardo (2019)

Since I had to dust off this blog, I thought I would dust off something from the cellar at the same time. Actually, this bottle came from my dear friend Doug’s cellar. While it is commonly known that wines can improve with aging, it is less well known that some beers are well-suited for aging, too. This one, with an alcohol level of 11.9% is pretty close to a wine in more than one way!

Nickel Brook Brewing is based out of Burlington, Ontario, started in 2005. When I think of Nickel Brook, I think of beers like this one – big, barrel aged, adventurous beers. They pioneered these kind of “premium” beers here in Ontario, and a number of popular ones return annually (hence the year on the label). They brew a wide selection of other beer across many styles, as well as non-alcoholic beverages – their root beer is a big hit in my house.

Cafe Del Bastardo is a very big, bold beer. An full-bodied imperial stout, it is aged in bourbon barrels for a year. The Cafe aspect comes from being aged on coffee. In the glass the aroma of coffee is palpable, and is a nice touch, melding very nicely with the subtle vanilla notes of the stout and the gentle heat of the bourbon. Having rested in the bottle for a number of years, this example was very, very mellow. Any harsh edges that may have been in the flavours were smoothed out and it was delicious.

Something that is fun to do with these beers suitable for aging is to buy a few and try them over a period of time to see how they mature. In some cases you will find a “sweet spot” for a particular beer, or style.

Until next time, happy typing and imbibe safely!

One thought on “Olivetti Lettera 22 and Nickel Brook Cafe Del Bastardo

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.